As of today, when you update your Instagram app, you will be able to send a photo or video to one to fifteen selected people, whether you are connected or not! No one else will be able to see them (well, unless your “friend” takes a screenshot and shares it – always be discreet!).
To use the new feature, right before you send the photo, tap “Direct”. Tap on the people you want to see the photo or video and hit “Send.”
The people receiving your update get a notification (and you’ll have a fake one from Instagram, just to show you where you’ll look for these direct updates). Look for the little inbox icon on your home screen. Can’t miss it!
Limitations on Instagram Direct Posts
You can’t share to Facebook or Twitter and you can’t tag people or use hashtags on these direct posts. That only makes sense – you don’t WANT them shared with everyone or to be searchable.
Sending Instagram Posts to Unconnected People
You can send them, but they’ll go in the requests queue. If …